What about My 1969 Dodge Charger?
Norman Taylor & Associates
September 30, 2010
Believe it or not, people call Norman Taylor & Associates for California Lemon Law help with cars that are old enough to be labeled classic or antique. In 1969 my hair was still black, and a lot longer. California Lemon Law did not exist.
There are different definitions for what qualifies a vehicle as classic. Most insurance companies consider your car is an antique or classic if it is at least 15 or 20 years old or older. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) definition for a classic car differs from state to state. In general, a Classic Car is any vehicle older than 15 years while an Antique is 25.
If you want help with your 1969 Dodge Charger, I would recommend a very old and excellent mechanic or prayer. The lemon law just isn’t in the cards.
Here are a few things to get you into the right decade when applying the lemon law:
• Most new car (original) basic warranties vary from 3 years – 36K miles to 4 years – 50K miles. There are exceptions of course. This definitely puts lemon law in the latter half of the current decade.
• Lemon law is not just about the original warranty, some used cars may apply under the CA Lemon Law, if the original manufacturer’s warranty is still in effect or if the dealer provided you with a warranty for which you did not pay to obtain.
• Buying an “extended warranty” does not extend your warranty.
• The lemon law defines the average life of a car as 120,000 miles. Practically speaking the older the car the more difficult the lemon law case.
A word to the wise: If your car has 175K miles, we aren’t going to be able to help. If Richard Nixon was president when you bought your car, have it restored, it’s definitely a classic. If you have a 2008 Mercedes with 35K miles and the transmission bucks like bad-tempered horse, Norman Taylor & Associates is ready to help.